Jump to content

User:The Land

From Wikimania 2013 • Hong Kong
This is me
This is my cat

Hello! My name is Chris Keating, and from 2011 to 2016 I was a trustee of Wikimedia UK. During 2018 and 2019 I was part of the Roles and Responsibilities strategy working group.

What I've done on-wiki

I started editing on the English Wikipedia as The Land in 2004 and became an administrator in 2006. The first article I deleted from AfD was "The Game of Lands". However, it turns out that my most ironic edit is in fact this one. I was particularly productive in 2007-2009, doing a lot of work on naval history articles. During this time I was the main author of four featured articles, as well as contributing to dozens more. In 2010 I attended the collaboration with the British Museum on Hoxne Hoard and then attended the GLAM-WIKI conference in London which sparked my interest in Wikipedia outreach activities - and also inspired me to get Book of the Dead to Good Article status.

Wikimedia UK

In 2011 I was elected to the board of Wikimedia UK, the UK's Wikipedia charity. We do lots of cool things for Wikipedia in the UK - working with museums, libraries, universities and other partners to help promote understanding of the Wikimedia movement, and help improve Wikipedia articles. If you're a British-based Wikipedian, there's loads going on, please do check out our upcoming events.

I have served on the board for over 5 years, including being Chair for about 18 months in 2012-13. I was appointed Chair in difficult circumstances and led the organisation through its 2012 Governance Review and was glad to be able to hand the role of Chair over to someone else once the organisation was on an even keel. Since I stepped down as Chair of Wikimedia UK I've been working to promote good governance in the Wikimedia movement, particularly by organising training workshops for chapter board members.

I'm also the author of a Meta-wiki essay on the dynamics of the relationship between the Wikimedia Foundation and the rest of the movement.

In the rest of life

Professionally, I'm a charity fundraiser. Currently I work for the National Deaf Children's Society. I've worked for a wide range of charities, and before that I was a staff member for the Liberal Democrat party from 2002-2010. (Being involved in so many voluntary organisations for so long has definitely helped me navigate the various challenges of being on the Wikimedia UK baord!)

I'm married, I play the violin, and have a cat (note to self: upload images of cat) Done

Contact details

If you want to contact me you are welcome to email me (at chriskeatingwiki (all one word) at gmail dot com) or tweet @chriskeating. Usually I'm quicker to see emails than I am to see messages on my talk page.